Comic Summer: Post 2.15

Post 2.14 | Rules | Family Tree | Post 2.16

SimNaNo Entry #13

Welcome back, and we are getting close to the end of SimNaNo. I wish I could finish this challenge by the end of the month, but I’ve been busy enough that just isn’t going to happen. We should, however, reach our goals without any problems! Last time the R-twins grew into teens, Fabiana became and elder and we wondered if we would be able to finish all these goals. Let’s take a look at where we are at.

Generation One Requirements

  • IL: Complete a Nature aspiration
  • JA: Go to Selvadorada to find a spouse
  • JA: Build a relic and use it on someone outside of the family
  • RoM: Become a spellcaster
  • FS: Write a Non-Fiction novel

  • IL: Keep Sulani clean (ongoing)
  • IL: Complete Buried Treasure collection (ongoing)
  • IL: Complete Seashell collection (ongoing)
  • JA: Complete Ancient Artifact collection (ongoing)
  • RoM: Win a duel against all 3 sages (ongoing)

  • Have 3 pregnancies each generation (6 of 9)
  • Workaholics (4 of 10 careers topped)
  • Tricks of the Trade (23 of 39 skills mastered)
  • Aspiration Family (16 of 27 base game aspirations completed)
  • Aspirational Family (goal) (17 of 30 aspirations competed)

So I apparently missed updating some skills along the way as when I counted up what we have completed so far there are 23 skills complete, but I didn’t remember maxing 3 of them last update. Still, those numbers should be correct now and you can see we are just blazing along. We might do this yet. Let’s get started.

After the boys’ birthday, I have them start working on some skills. One of the skills Rye is set to tackle is the Robotics skill. So he starts making robots and parts on the station. This skill feels a bit slow to level so far, but hopefully, it will get faster.

We are already up to 24 skills now as Lily has maxed out singing. That means she has maxed every musical skill except for the DJ Mixing, and I’m handing that to someone else. I’m not sure what she will work on now. Probably just her aspiration and job.

Rye still needs to get his Get Fit badge, so we have him head over to the treadmill to do some working out. His brother decides to have a chat with him. Reed still needs the artist badge, so I send him to go paint.

Olive is busy working on that bodybuilder aspiration. She has got to be getting close, just look at her arms already! Either way, I realized around here that Olive, especially if she completes this aspiration soon, will be around for a while, but Fabiana is going to pass away before Petunia or either boy can max a career. So I switch Olive over to Successful Lineage so she can help with homework and mentor while the boys are still teens. Fabiana switches to Big Happy Family.

Most of Fabiana’s hope’s to complete another aspiration rest on this girl. She is almost through the fishing skill, and the Angling Ace aspiration. I believe all she has left to do is to max the skill. She will then move out as it seems Lavender isn’t interested in getting married so far.

Visitor’s come by all the time from the extended family. Especially Orca and Misty, but we did give Orca a key. She has turned elder, which I apparently missed somewhere along the way. I had expected her to stay young longer than that with as many kids as she had, but she was out on her own before the others, and I gave the rest a single youth potion, so I guess it makes sense.

Reed’s outgoing trait, I think, is what causes him to randomly take selfies of himself, or maybe it’s just because he’s a teen. I clearly haven’t given enough to do. Time to get him started on something.

While updating my spreadsheets I realized, Fabiana maxed the Vampire Lore skill and I didn’t even realize it! Way to go Fabiana. That means she needs to finish parenting and can solely focus on flower arranging. She might actually make it! I also, apparently, missed the picture completely, but she got promoted to the top level of the gardening career, and then retired.

I never realized that another sim could help with the potion making. So when Oceana starts the next batch of plentiful needs potions I have Lily go over and help. I just need her to finish her career, and the aspiration would also be good and then she can move out on her own.

Since having Oceana standing at the bar all the time was getting old, and she’s almost maxed the skill already, I buy a DJ booth and have her start working that skill. Seeing her in the booth makes me realize, this is actually a really good fit for her.

I wanted to try and have Lily repair some things at the next noon repair session. Instead, she starts the speaker on fire. Then chaos ensues. First Lily couldn’t “reach” the fire to put it out, even with a spell. Then the fire brigade showed up and complained they couldn’t get in the house. While that was happening the rest of the family ran outside and then couldn’t get back in the house themselves. Apparently going into this house when it is on fire can’t be done, at least by a door. I was able to get Fabiana to teleport into the house, but she also couldn’t reach the fires either. Either on the speaker, the bench, that was still on fire, or any of the things on the other side of the wall that were also on fire. Not sure what has happened with fires, but she couldn’t even cast a spell on it, and she has ranged spells. Luckily everything ended ok, and everything got replaced.

To help Fabiana work on her parenting skill without having to sit at the computer over and over again, I decided to have her visit her sister-in-law, Orca. She lives in a house with 4 of her 5 kids, including the toddler twins, her sister-in-law and her husband, and their 2 kids, I believe. It’s a full house.

However, after many hours of talking about parenting, playing with, and taking care of the toddlers, she finally maxed the skill. That is one more down and hopefully, she can focus solely on Flower Arranging now.

Back at home, Olive is busy finishing up the mentoring of her youngest two children, and then she switches back to the Bodybuilder aspiration. Since it will be a bit before Lily maxes a career or anyone gets married (apparently), she should have time to finish. Oceana keeps working on her DJing skills, and Fabiana is working with her flowers.

It’s HarvestFest time again, which is hard to believe it’s already here. The family has many gnomes around this year, but at the end of the holiday, we’ve sold a fair amount of them. They aren’t a needed collection in this challenge. The family also sits down to a nice Tofurky meal.

Then it’s back to skill, skill, skill. Reed is asking Olive for her advice on something, and I really should take those two volunteering again soon. That really is a nice way to build up some character traits.

Since both of the boys still needed to complete the Outdoor badge for scouts, and the fishing on the island doesn’t count, we send Petunia and both boys to go fish in Oasis Springs. This has the added benefit of being a good place to find frogs and other collecables for Rye’s aspiration.

After finishing up fishing Rye spends some time collecting all the things he can dig up. He still needs some crystals, or metals….can’t remember which right the moment and while the family has plenty, I am trying to have him do it legitimately.

Oceana comes home with a promotion into the mixologist branch of the food career. This completes the milestone she was working on and now she just needs to finish up her mixology skill and make some more drinks.

Petunia is back out at her normal fishing spot, it’s very nice to have it right here on the island. She stays for most of the night fishing.

Then we finally get the notice. Not only does this mean she completed the aspiration, it also means she’s maxed the skill, because that’s all that was needed to finish the aspiration.

With that being great news for Petunia, she switches over to the Super Parent aspiration, we are crossing our fingers and hoping, and move her out to a cute little house in Brindleton Bay. I’m not sure why I see her, there, but it seems like a good place for a person who likes fishing.

With that, we show proof that this generation has finished their scrapbook requirements, Olive wrote the book a long time ago, and now all the pictures are on the wall. It’s been a successful generation!

Before we head out I figured I would share some extended family kid updates with you. These are the three oldest kids, besides Misty, whom you’ve seen a lot of as she is over often. On the far left is Wade, who used to have red hair, and apparently made it brown now. That is Orca’s oldest. Then is Blossom’s only child, Jay, now that he is all grown up, and finally Rose, Orca’s youngest girl.

These are the youngest of the extended family. The little brown-haired girl is Daisy, Brook’s only child. Then are Orca’s twins. Birch is in the blue, and Bay is in the pink. I’m a little annoyed with the game at the fact all three of these kids got Autumn’s teal eyes, but not of Olive’s kids did. Maybe Rye’s kids will, I hope. But that will come next time. We should be close to, if not fully wrapping up this generation next update, so hope to see you there.


SimNaNo Totals:

Words: +1,652 | 22,594 / 25,000
Pictures: +35 | 490 / 500

Post 2.14 | Rules | Family Tree | Post 2.16

Published by

ciysims

I have been playing sims since TS1 and even played a little bit of the PS2 version and the mobile versions over time. Once I discovered challenges for TS2 I never looked back. I love the sims, the families I've been able to make, and play through the years, and connecting with people about them. I work from home as a QTC Admin for my company, have a cat I adore and have a million hobbies I feel like I will never have time to completely explore.

3 thoughts on “Comic Summer: Post 2.15”

Leave a comment