Comic Summer: Post 3.01

Post 2.16 | Rules | Family Tree | Post 3.02

SimNaNo Entry #15

Welcome back to our next to last update for SimNaNo. It’s been a heck of a ride for me with it this year, but we should reach our goals, and I hope I have brought you some fun during this month, and during this insane year. Last time we finished up a generation, so it’s time to move onto the last generation.

Generation Two Requirements

  • IL: Complete a Nature aspiration
  • JA: Go to Selvadorada to find a spouse
  • JA: Build a relic and use it on someone outside of the family
  • RoM: Become a spellcaster
  • RoM: Have a child with Ancient Bloodline
  • FS: Write a Non-Fiction novel
  • FS: Take pictures of all the kids and spouse

  • IL: Keep Sulani clean (ongoing)
  • IL: Complete Buried Treasure collection (ongoing)
  • IL: Complete Seashell collection (ongoing)
  • JA: Complete Ancient Artifact collection (ongoing)
  • RoM: Win a duel against all 3 sages (ongoing)

  • Have 3 pregnancies each generation (6 of 9)
  • Workaholics (6 of 10 careers topped)
  • Tricks of the Trade (33 of 40 skills mastered)
  • Aspiration Family (19 of 27 base game aspirations completed)
  • Aspirational Family (goal) (25 of 30 aspirations competed)

So our entire first section up there has been mostly reset with a couple of things added for this final generation. That’s right, I said final. Once Rye has kids and all of those kids are YA the challenge is done. It’s been a crazy challenge, and I’m getting pretty ready to be done with it, but it has been a ton of fun to get to know this family, and don’t be surprised if you see members pop up in other places sometime.

We start with the boys upstairs, where Reed is working on his Veterinarian skill. Desiree is out haunting and not in a great mood so Rye comforts her and cheers her up before she has a chance to break everything.

Olive is getting tired of baking constantly, and I’m getting tired of having a bunch of food I don’t really want the entire family eating day in day out, so instead we have Olive read a baking book for a bit.

Another day and another party. This time we try and throw a keg party. It doesn’t go great, but having never done one before it was pretty cool. Rye attempted to tap the keg a few times before he was able to get it finally.

Lavender is finally getting started on some grand kids for Olive. That likely means she’ll get married before too long, which would be good for Olive, as she has all my hopes for completing the two family aspirations.

It feel sometimes like all this family does is study and party. While I would like to say they have more fun than that, it’s actually kind of true. If they aren’t throwing a party for Lily’s aspiration, they are skilling, and if they aren’t skilling at a skill object it’s probably from a book.

However, sometimes they do get to go have fun. This was supposed to be a dance party for Lily, but apparently I wasn’t paying enough attention to who I was on when I asked it to throw the party and it ended up being Olive’s party.

Oceana needs to watch someone die, and Aubrey here is on day zero. She follows him around the club, talks his ear off, and eventually he heads off the lot. As soon as he leaves the lot, notification that he died. *Sigh* better luck next time Oceana.

It’s not all bad, however, because this notification means we have nearly completed all of the Island Living goals for this challenge! All that is left to do is have Rye finish up his Nature aspiration.

Oceana: Why am I doing this again?

Because you need to have another declared enemy.

Oceana: But I’m not mean.

I know, but you already have mischief maxed. I promise you are almost done.

Oceana follows my lead, even though she wasn’t really into fighting this lady, but soon enough they are enemies and the only thing Oceana has left is watching someone die, and leveling up her job a little bit more.

Lily finally gets a chance to throw a new party and this time we do a black and white party since I’ve never done one of those before either. It’s a fun time, and gives Olive the chance to make 3 gourmet meals in one social event leaving her to just need to level up her job to finish up the culinary aspiration.

This is just to show you, we have indeed finished up the buried treasure collection, and boy am I glad. I was getting a little nervous about finishing this, but apparently I didn’t need to be.

Another couple updates from the family and we get the much anticipated update that Lavender has gotten married. I quickly went and switched Olive back to Big Happy Family only to learn that the marriage has to apparently take place while this aspiration is selected. Hopefully Petunia will consider getting married soon.

After the big Black and White party there was plenty to clean up and Lily started gathering up the dishes. It’s quite a pile, although I have seen worse. Those dinner parties can really take a hit on dishes.

Oceana gets a promotion which requires her to pick a path. I considered which to give her, and for Oceana I felt Oracle was the most obvious, especially since she already has maxed programming. Her first task is to do some hacking. So she sits down to take care of that, and it doesn’t take long.

Our two young spellcasters are practicing potions together. I had no idea, until now, how much you could do together at a cauldron and I love it. Lily learns a new potion out of the experimentation. I’m working on getting Rye the Plentiful Needs potion, which he learns a little while after this.

Since we have nifty knitting now we obviously have to find room for a rocking chair, and I feel it fits perfectly there in the corner. Also a knitting bag is left out just in case. I gave Lily a knitting box (sort of wish I could just give her balls of yard but oh well) and set her to work.

After that she needs some more painting and writing skills for her job. She’s at level 9 now, which means she is so very close to completing her job. She heads up to paint and gets the level without much effort. Then it’s to the computer to write.

While harvesting plants Rye completes his aspiration. That means that all of the island living requirements are completed and we can officially count the points for that bonus.

Lavender comes over to visit, but the boys are busy working at their skills. I don’t think I had mentioned it before, but both boys now have jobs. Rye got a job in Engineering, and will be working toward mechanical engineer, and Reed I decided to put into acting. He is assigned the acting skill to max, and with his jaw line I thought he might be good.

This knitting pack is just too fun already. Lily is found next, sitting on her bed knitting away at another project. She’s already up to level 4 I believe. It’s a fairly quick skill to level.

Back downstairs and while the family enjoys some TV watching Lily is still at it, and Olive spends some time reminiscing about her life. Then Autumn comes out to visit and chats with Lily for a bit.

It’s time for Reed’s first day on the job and he gets into hair and make up and then into his costume for this ad for soap suds. Apparently they are going with a bit of a pirate theme but Reed looks good, and he’s ready.

Because he’s already up to a level 8 in both acting and charisma, he takes all the risks and they pay off big. He goes home with his first promotion already and is well on his way to maxing the career. That is a great place to call this update for the time being. We have one more update coming from SimNaNo, and I hope you have enjoyed this crazy challenge.


SimNaNo Totals:

Words: +1,368 | 25,520 / 25,000
Pictures: +31 | 593 / 500

Post 2.16 | Rules | Family Tree | Post 3.02

Published by

ciysims

I have been playing sims since TS1 and even played a little bit of the PS2 version and the mobile versions over time. Once I discovered challenges for TS2 I never looked back. I love the sims, the families I've been able to make, and play through the years, and connecting with people about them. I work from home as a QTC Admin for my company, have a cat I adore and have a million hobbies I feel like I will never have time to completely explore.

2 thoughts on “Comic Summer: Post 3.01”

Leave a comment