EPIC Tripp: Sound of Music – 2.08

Post 2.07 | Rules | Post 2.09

Generation 2: Sound of Music

  • Starting with the sims of generation 2, if the heir or spouse masters the painting skill, walls and floors may be any material. If this generation doesn’t complete this, it will be up to future generations to gain the necessary skill.
  • Starting with the sims of generation 2, if the heir or spouse masters the handiness skill, thermostats are unlocked. If this generation doesn’t complete this, it will be up to future generations to gain the necessary skill.
  • Once heir reaches the top of the music or painting careers, radios are able to be purchased and used.

    Gen 2 Mini Challenge:
  • Make at least 1,000 simoleans by busking. +3 points

Last time we were with the family they were celebrating a new HarvestFest. We know have the Jungle Adventure and University packs so we might see Lindsey go for archaeology, which is what we were intending, but looking at Francis’ aspiration he wants to see Lindsey reach the top of a career. So we will see what I decide to do when Lindsey grows up.

So at the end of last update I mentioned I was debating how to handle the mixology skill for Francis. I decided, since the family has PLENTY of money that I would go ahead and buy them a bar and just rearrange the furniture and items on the lower floor so they could have room. Francis got right to work and reached his levels without too much effort.

I wanted Lindsey to be able to make it through her scout badges. It may not end up working, her squeamishness making “cleaning up” and doing some things like that hard, although I am pretty sure if I have her set the table a lot she might make it, we will see. For now, she works on her fitness.

Belle is, I believe, still looking for her next promotion. However, she might have reached level 8 at this point. She is getting so close to unlocking radios, which will be a HUGE help to Lindsey, who doesn’t find much that we have at home “fun.”

For now, however, I need her to continue to work on painting, as that is also very important to try and get done, but I’m not sure Belle will make it, we will see. With the piano around she does stay inspired much of the time.

Lindsey worked and worked on getting the final things she needed for the mental aspiration and finally did it. She got through all the potions she needed to and decided to start on the creative aspiration, though I doubt she will make it.

Poor Belle was on her way to getting her promotion when she popped home and grew up. Not sure what caused the pop home, but sadly she was going to be sad for a missed birthday. I can’t believe my little Belle is an adult now. Time flies!

To help negate some of the sadness that was going to come from “missing” Belle’s birthday (and it really was a forgotten one this time) I sent her jogging and then to paint her emotions.

Francis is getting pretty good at mixology now, and when he gets home that night to make up for missing her birthday the couple sits down with a glass of whatever Francis mixed up to celebrate. Francis is quite a bit older than Belle, but it doesn’t stop her from loving him.

That night the monster reared it’s head under Lindsey’s bed again and while she tried to make friends with it, it didn’t work for her. Luckily grandma was out haunting this night, and Kiana took care of spraying it back.

Afterwards she sat down and talking with Lindsey a little bit before Lindsey tried to go back to sleep. Those monsters came out a lot more for Lindsey then they did for Belle.

Lindsey: …and one day maybe I can even find ways to stop the monsters from scaring kids like me.

Kiana: That’s wonderful sweetheart.

In a family like this food is accompanied by music many days, and perhaps it gives Francis some additional inspiration to have his wife working diligently on her music. I believe she is working on finishing up writing a few songs.

Lindsey tries her had at the piano. She doesn’t get nearly the fun, or the sound, out of it that her mother does, but Belle losing herself in the music of her own making and doesn’t even seem to notice her daughters less than stellar playing.

Johnny comes out later that night and does something wonderful. He washes some clothes. Laundry isn’t something we keep up with as often as we used to. This family is so busy and going all hours of the day/night. So it’s wonderful that he does this. Of course he then promptly goes over and breaks the bathtub, but still.

The next day is Monday and that means school project time. Lindsey pulls her project out of her pack once she gets home and gets started on her chemistry experiment. This seems to be right up Lindsey’s ally as she loves to work with her chemical set.

With that I do believe it is about time for this chapter of the EPIC to come to a close. Lindsey is very close to growing up to teen and we are still working to see if we can complete a second aspiration, although it seems unlikely it will happen. Francis is waiting for his next promotion and Belle did finally get a promotion and is level 8 now, only 2 more to go.

Post 2.07 | Rules | Post 2.09

Published by

ciysims

I have been playing sims since TS1 and even played a little bit of the PS2 version and the mobile versions over time. Once I discovered challenges for TS2 I never looked back. I love the sims, the families I've been able to make, and play through the years, and connecting with people about them. I work from home as a QTC Admin for my company, have a cat I adore and have a million hobbies I feel like I will never have time to completely explore.

Leave a comment